News | Published:

Institution of Civil Engineers: Awards

Nature volume 142, page 748 (22 October 1938) | Download Citation



THE following awards of the Institution of Civil Engineers have been made for session 1937-38: Telford Premiums to Sir George Lee, M. G. J. McHaffie, jointly to W. C. Parker and Hubert Clarke, jointly to William Hudson and J. K. Hunter, George Ellson, jointly to F. J. Buckton and H. J. Fereday, R. W. Mountain, W. A. Tookey, F. C. Vokes, Prof. A. H. Gibson, J. F. Hay, Frank Fancutt, T. H. Seaton ; Coopers Hill War Memorial Prize to William Hawthorne and F. H. Williams (jointly) ; Trevithick Premium to R. G. Knight ; Manby Premium to Dr. H. J. Gough and W. A. Wood (jointly) ; Indian Premium to M. R. Atkins and D. H. Remfry (jointly). For papers published in the Journal without oral discussion: Telford Premiums to Prof. F. C. Lea and J. G. Whitman (jointly) ; Dr. C. F. Colebrook and Prof. C. M. White (jointly), Herbert Addison, Thomas Donkin ; Trevithick Premium to G. C. Blofield ; Crampton Prizes to J. R. Daymond, Serge Leliavsky. For students' papers read in London or at meetings of local associations: James Forrest Medal and a Miller Prize to John Hayes ; Miller Prizes to I. S. Chisholm, A. R. Collins, A. L. Arnold, E. F. Humphries, Jack Mercer, J. M. P. Hooley.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing