National Institute of Sciences, India


    AT a meeting of the Council of the National Institute of Sciences of India held on November 6 the following were elected fellows of the Institute: Ordinary fellows: Prof. Y. Bharadwaja, professor of botany, Benares Hindu University, Benares; Dr. B. L. Bhatia, principal, Government College, Hoshiar-pur ; Prof. G. R. Paranjpe, professor of physics, Royal Institute of Science, Bombay ; Dr. H. Srinivasa Rao, assistant superintendent, Zoological Survey of India, Calcutta ; Dr. K. Rangadharma Rao, reader in physics, Andhra University, Waltair ; Prof. M. R. Siddiqi, professor of mathematics, Qsmania University, Hyderabad-Deccan ; Prof. A. C. Sircar, professor of chemistry, Presidency College, Calcutta ; Dr. M. B. Soparkar, medical officer, Plague Research Inquiry, Haffkine Institute, Parel, Bombay; Sir Shah S. Sulaiman, judge of the Federal Court of India, New Delhi; and Col. F. C. Temple, chartered civil engineer, Calcutta. Honorary fellows: Prof. Ludwig Diels, director of the Botanical Gardens, Berlin-Dahlem, Germany ; Sir James G. Frazer, London; Prof. Robert Robinson, Waynflete professor of organic chemistry, University of Oxford ; Dr. C. M. Wenyon, direct or-in-chief, Wellcome Bureau of Scientific Research, London.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    National Institute of Sciences, India. Nature 140, 928 (1937).

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.