News | Published:

Institution of Civil Engineers: Awards for Papers

Nature volume 140, page 722 (23 October 1937) | Download Citation



THE following awards have recently been made for papers read and discussed at ordinary meetings of the Institution of Civil Engineers: Telford Gold Medal to D. M. Watson. James Watt Gold Medal to Sir Noel Ashbridge. Coopers Hill War Memorial Prize to J. Guthrie Brown. Telford Premiums A. H. Naylor ; Dr. S. F. Dorey ; F. W. A. Handman ; C. L. Howard Humphreys ; G. E. Howorth ; B. W. Huntsman ; Dr. L. R. Wentholt ; Prof. S. M. Dixon, Gerald FitzGibbon and Dr. M. A. Hogan ; Prof. A. J. Sutton Pippard, Eric Tranter and Letitia Chitty ; and A. J. Dean. Indian Premium to Dr. H. J. Nichols. Trevithick Premium to D. A. Stewart. For papers published in the Journal with written discussion the following awards have been made: Webb Prize to Dr. P. L. Henderson. Manby Premium to Prof. H. W. Swift. Crampton Prize to B. D. Bichards. Telford Premiums to Dr. W. H. Glanville and F. G. Thomas ; J. C. Richards ; and Robert Ferguson. Trevithick Premiums to E. N. Webb and Prof. B. L. Goodlet. For students' papers read in London or at meetings of local associations the following awards have been made: James Forrest Medal and a Miller Prize to D. F. Orchard. Miller Prizes to S. K. Jordan ; N. C. C. de Jong ; D. M. Hamilton ; R. C. Whitehead ; Henry Grace ; and F. C. Squire. The Baker Gold Medal for the triennial period 1934-37 has been awarded to B. M. Hellstrom and the Howard Quinquennial Prize for the quinquennial period 1932-37 has been awarded to Prof. J. F. Baker. '

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing