foundation of modern histological research; that on the membranes of Mucorineæ and Peronosporaceæ is still the basis of text-book descriptions.

From the physiology of fungi and the structure of membranes it seemed logical to pass to the study of fungal infections, and this Mangin did with such effect that he is rightly regarded as one of the founders of French phytopathology. His best-known investigations are those on the diseases of wheat, chestnut, vine (with Viala) and fruit trees; he also studied rots of timber.

In 1904, Mangin was appointed professor of the classification and natural families of Cryptogams at the Museum national d'Histoire naturelle in succession to Dehérain, who had held the chair since 1880, but as professor of vegetable physiology. Here his enthusiasm and administrative ability resulted in his being surrounded by a group of active workers—but in conditions which were surprisingly bad. He continued his investigations and became interested in phytoplankton. One aspect of his work which has not received the recognition due to it, was the attempt to add precision to the description of moulds. In 1920, he was elected by his colleagues to succeed

Edmund Perrier as director of the Museum. His administrative duties, particularly heavy on account of the effects of the War, left him little opportunity for research, but he devoted what time he could spare to the study of phytoplankton. By the time he retired in 1931 he had extended the activities and raised the prestige of the Museum; but perhaps his greatest service was the building of the magnificent new Botanical Gallery at a cost of twenty million francs, of which the Rockefeller Institution gave five millions.

Louis Mangin showed his character in his work; when one met him he appeared somewhat reserved but alert and practical, though ever ready to extend to younger men courtesy of a kind suggestive of an older generation.

J. R.

WE regret to announce the following deaths:

L. B. L. Belinfante, secretary of the Geological Society of London in 1916–30, and editor of the *Quarterly Journal* in 1890–1930, on April 10.

Dr. A. P. Wills, professor of mathematical physics in Columbia University since 1910, on April 17, aged sixty-four years.

News and Views

Royal Society: New Fellows

AT the meeting of the Royal Society held on May 6, the following fellows were elected: Dr. J. D. Bernal, lecturer in crystallography, University of Cambridge; Prof. A. C. Chibnall, assistant professor of biochemistry, Imperial College of Science and Technology; Prof. G. R. Clemo, professor of chemistry, Armstrong College, University of Durham; Dr. A. N. Drury, lecturer in pathology, University of Cambridge; Prof. H. Munro Fox, professor of zoology, University of Birmingham; Prof. W. E. Garner, professor of physical chemistry, University of Bristol; Dr. S. Goldstein, lecturer in mathematics, University of Cambridge; Dr. Percival Hartley, director of biological standards, National Institute for Medical Research; Prof. H. L. Hawkins, professor of geology, University of Reading; The Rev. J. E. Holloway, lecturer in botany, University of Otago; Dr. W. Hume-Rothery, Warren research fellow of the Royal Society; Dr. T. G. Mason, Cotton Research Station, Trinidad; J. Reid Moir, archæologist; Dr. M. L. E. Oliphant, assistant director of research, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge; Dr. C. F. A. Pantin, lecturer in zoology, University of Cambridge; Dr. D. R. Pye, deputy director of scientific research, Air Ministry; Dr. E. C. Stoner, reader in physics, University of Leeds.

Coronation Honours

The following names of scientific workers and others associated with scientific work appear in the list of Coronation honours conferred by H.M. the King: Barons: The Right Hon. Christopher

Addison, first Minister of Health, 1919-21, and Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, 1930-31; Sir John Cadman, chairman, Anglo-Iranian Oil Company and Iraq Petroleum Company. G.C.M.G.: Sir Frederick Leith Ross, chief economic adviser to His Majesty's Government. K.C.B.: E. J. Forsdyke, director and principal librarian, British Museum; Prof. E. Mellanby, secretary of the Medical Research Council. K.C.M.G.: Sir David Chadwick, secretary of the Imperial Economic Committee and of the Executive Council of the Imperial Agricultural Bureaux; Prof. A. P. W. Thomas, emeritus professor of botany, zoology and geology, Auckland University College, New Zealand. Baronet: Sir David Milne-Watson, president of the National Gas Council and Governor of the Gas Light and Coke Company. Knights: Prof. R. W. Chapman, professor of engineering, University of Adelaide, South Australia; Brigadier H. J. Couchman, surveyor-general of India; Dr. Allen Mawer, provost of University College, London, and director of the Survey of English Place Names; Colonel A. Olver, expert adviser in animal husbandry to the Imperial Council of Agricultural Research; Dr. R. H. Pickard, director of the British Cotton Industry Research Association; Dr. D'Arcy W. Thompson, professor of natural history, University of St. Andrews. C.H.: Prof. C. T. R. Wilson, for services to experimental physics.

C.B.: Major-General H. M. Perry, honorary surgeon to the King, director and professor of pathology, Royal Army Medical College; Dr. D. R. Pye, director of scientific research, Air Ministry; B. Rackham, keeper, Department of Ceramics,