puted, but the one given by Whipple and Cunningham of the Harvard College Observatory appears to fit the observations the better. The elements of this orbit give the date of perihelion as 1937 Feb. 21.73 U.T. and perihelion distance as 0.620 ($\omega = 32^{\circ}$ 9': $\Omega = 57^{\circ} \ 3' : i = 25^{\circ} \ 57'$). Thus during the present week the comet is receding from the sun, but its distance from the earth is decreasing. In consequence its brightness has remained nearly stationary, though possibly it may reach a maximum about March 13 or 14; although the comet is not a naked-eye object, it should be within the range of binoculars. February 27, the comet was near the borders of the constellations of Pisces and Andromeda; since then it has been traversing the latter constellation, being near the bright star \$\beta\$ Andromedæ in the evening of March 10; the comet's path, continued through Perseus, will have entered Cassiopeia on March 24. In Great Britain the comet has been photographed two or three times by Mr. G. F. Kellaway of Yeovil, Somerset; a short tail to the nucleus is shown on the photographs. Dr. A. C. D. Crommelin thinks that it is worth while to examine the possibility of identity of the present comet with that of the comets of 1532 and 1661.

Announcements

Honorary membership of the Royal Asiatic Society has been conferred upon Prof. Jules Bloch, of the University of Paris, Prof. Carl Brockelmann, of the University of Breslau, and Prof. J. Ph. Vogel, of the University of Leyden, in recognition of their eminent services to Oriental research.

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has awarded the Gunning Victoria Jubilee Prize for the period 1932–36 to Prof. C. G. Darwin, master of Christ's College, Cambridge, formerly Tait professor of natural philosophy in the University of Edinburgh, for his distinguished contributions in mathematical physics; and the Makdougall-Brisbane Prize for the period 1934–36 to Dr. E. M. Anderson, formerly of H.M. Geological Survey (Scotland), for his paper "The Dynamics of the Formation of Cone-sheets, Ringdykes, and Caldron-subsidences", published in the Society's *Proceedings* within the period of the award.

According to Science and Culture, at the annual meeting of the National Institute of Sciences of India held at Hyderabad on January 5, the following officers were elected for the current year: President, Prof. M. N. Saha; Vice-Presidents, Prof. S. S. Bhatnagar and Lieut-Colonel R. N. Chopra; Foreign Secretary, Prof. B. Sahni; Secretaries, Prof. S. P. Agharkar and Dr. A. M. Heron; Treasurer, Dr. S. L. Hora.

AT the annual general meeting of the Geological Society of London held on February 19, the following officers were elected for 1937-38: President, Prof. O. T. Jones; Vice-presidents, Prof. W. T. Gordon, Mr. J. F. N. Green, Prof. W. J. Pugh, and Prof. H. H. Swinnerton; Secretaries, Dr. L. Hawkes and Prof. W. B. R. King; Foreign Secretary, Sir Arthur Smith Woodward; Treasurer, Mr. F. N. Ashcroft.

At the annual general meeting of the Society of Public Analysts and Other Analytical Chemists held on March 5 the following officers were elected for 1937: President, G. Roche Lynch; Vice-Presidents, A. L. Bacharach, H. E. Cox, B. S. Evans, A. R. Tankard, J. F. Tocher; Hon. Treasurer, E. B. Hughes; Hon. Secretary, Lewis Eynon.

THE International Commission of Zoological Nomenclature has elected Mr. Francis Fleming to be secretary in succession to Dr. C. W. Stiles, who has resigned on account of ill-health. The Secretary's address is: British Museum (Natural History), Cromwell Road, London, S.W.7.

Beginning on April I, the Victoria and Albert Museum, including the India Museum, and also the Science Museum, South Kensington, are to remain open on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays until 8 p.m. At present the Museums close at 6 p.m. The Museums will remain open until 8 o'clock on the Monday bank holidays at Easter, Whitsun and August.

The University of Lille has accepted the 15,000 francs awarded to Dr. Cloudesley Brereton for his book on France by the Commission du Tourisme, for a prize to be awarded in alternate years for the best essay on the works of M. Izoulet, of the College of France, and on Mr. Branford's work, "Eros and Psyche" (University of London Press).

JEAN CHAZY has been elected a member of the Section of Astronomy of the Paris Academy of Sciences in succession to the late M. Hamy.

PROF. HEINRICH GLOEL, of Wetzlau, has been awarded the Goethe Medal for Art and Science.

Prof. P. Rivet, professor of anthropology in the Museum of Natural History, Paris, has been created a Commander of the Legion of Honour.

PROF. L. VAN ITALLIE, of Leyden, recently delivered an address before the French Society of Clinical Biology, after which he was awarded the Pasteur Medal.

Prof. Karl Beurlen, professor of geology and palæontology at Kiel, Prof. Albert Dietrich, professor of pathology at Tübingen, and Prof. Hans Seger, director of the Silesian Museum for Art and Antiquities, Breslau, have been elected members of the Imperial Leopold Caroline German Academy at Halle

THE Rockefeller Foundation has made a grant of 10,000 dollars for the investigation of filterable viruses under the direction of Dr. George P. Berry, professor of bacteriology and associate professor of medicine at the University of Rochester (U.S.A.), and one of 6,400 dollars for the study of the biological effects of heat by Dr. Stafford L. Warren, associate professor of medicine and radiology.