ON October 23, Sir Frank Dyson inaugurated at St. Albans High School for Girls the observatory recently bequeathed to the school by the late Dr. William-Alfred Parr. Dr. Parr, a well-known amateur astronomer arid past-president;of the British Astronomical Association, resided in St. Albans during the last few years of his life, and had erected in his garden a small but well-equipped observatory, containing a four-inch clock-driven equatorial by Cooke, with a photo-visual object-glass, Evershed solar spectroscope and, other Accessorjies. The entire observatory, which is of wood, surmounted by a 10 foot revolving dome, was, with its small annexe, removed from Dr. Parr's garden during the summer, and re-erected in ihe school grounds near the new gymnasium, under the supervision of Dr. W. H. Steavenson. Following an address by Sir Frank to the staff and pupils, assembled in the flatter building, the observatory was formally opened and dedicated with picturesque ceremony, the Dean of St. Albans, the senior science mistress and the head girl taking part.
About this article
Cite this article
Observatory for St. Albans High School for Girls. Nature 138, 753 (1936). https://doi.org/10.1038/138753a0