News | Published:

Nutrition Advisory Committee

    Naturevolume 135pages951952 (1935) | Download Citation



    THE Minister of Health and the Secretary of State for Scotland have appointed a Nutrition Advisory Committee to “inquire into the facts, quantitative and qualitative, in relation to the diet of the people, and to report as to any changes therein which appear desirable in the light of modern advances in the knowledge of nutrition”. The members of the Committee are: Lord Luke (chairman), Mrs. Eleanor Barton, Mr. J. N. Beckett, Dr. G. F. Buchan, Prof. E. P. Cathcart, Mr. R. R. Enfield, Dr. J. Alison Glover, Dr. J. M. Hamill, Dr. A. Bradford Hill, Sir F. Gowland Hopkins, Dr. Donald Hunter, Prof. E. Mellanby, Sir John Boyd Orr, Mr. E. C. Ramsbottom, Mr. J. M. Vallance, Mrs. Chalmers Watson, Mr. J. R. Willis, Mr. E. H. T. Wiltshire. The secretaries of the Committee are: Mr. W. J. Peete, of the Ministry of Health, London, S.W.I, to whom all communications on the subject should be addressed; Mr. N. F. McNicoll, of the Department of Health for Scotland; and Dr. H. E. Magee, of the Ministry of Health (Medical Secretary).

    About this article

    Publication history

    Issue Date



    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing