Party and of the Socialist League and the scheme propounded by Edward Bellamy in "Looking Backwards" (published 1865).

Each of the schemes in section (a) proposes a planned and co-ordinated economic system, but none of them, except that of the 'New Britain' group, involves a departure from the basis of private enterprise. Planning and co-ordination are also part of the Conservative and Liberal proposals, but for them the main source of our troubles is to be found in the international sphere. Both recognise, however, that the international situation is not capable of direct control, and therefore planning in some degree becomes a necessary national policy. Mr. Harold Macmillan proposes a compromise between the individualist and collectivist lines of thought. Central Economic Council would aim at maintaining equilibrium between supply and demand by expanding demand, remembering that the worker is also a Labour would be represented on this Council, and while interference by workers in the daily management of industry is rejected, the industrial system would be humanised and opportunities for speculative profits much reduced.

The six schemes in section (b), while they stress the failure of unco-ordinated individualism, are sharply distinguished from those in section (a) by their emphatic assertion that the underlying causes of our present economic troubles are the 'profit motive' and private ownership of the means of production. They regard a shortage and maldistribution of purchasing power as inevitable so long as these continue, and they therefore propose that the community should take over the ownership, if not the operation, of all production.

University and Educational Intelligence

Cambridge.—The Adams Prize for 1933–34 has been awarded to Dr. Sydney Goldstein, former fellow of St. John's College. Dr. L. Rosenhead, St. John's College, is highly commended for his essay. The prize is awarded every two years for an essay on some branch of pure mathematics, astronomy, or other branch of natural philosophy. The Sheepshanks Exhibition for astronomy, valued at about £40 for three years, has been awarded to S. W. Shivershwarkar, scholar of Sidney Sussex College. The successful candidate is required by statute governing the award to become a member of Trinity College.

An appointment to a Busk studentship in aeronautics will be made in July. The studentship, worth £150, is tenable for one year, during which period the holder will be expected to devote his whole time to research. Forms of application may be obtained before June 8 from Prof. B. Melvill Jones, Engineering Laboratory, Cambridge.

London.—The following appointments have recently been made: Dr. C. H. Lobban, since 1926 University reader in civil engineering at King's College, to be professor of civil engineering, King's College, from October 1, 1935; Dr. A. St. G. J. McC. Huggett, since 1931 reader in pharmacology and member of the physiology staff in the University of Leeds, to be professor of physiology, St. Mary's Hospital Medical School, from October 1; Mr. J. P. Ross, since 1931 University reader in surgery at St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College, to be professor of surgery, St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical

College, from October 1; Dr. H. A. Mess, since 1928 director of the Tyneside Council of Social Service, to be reader in sociology, Bedford College, from October 1.

The title of professor of political economy in the University has been conferred on Mr. N. F. Hall, in respect of the post held by him at University College.

OXFORD.—The scientific contributions of early members of the Queen's College formed the subject of Dr. R. T. Gunther's lecture last week, with especial reference to the work of Edmond Halley and Thomas Pennant who to a very large extent have the credit for having secured the publication of Newton's "Principia" and Gilbert White's "Natural History of Selborne". Sir John Floyer, the inventor of the pulse-watch and advocate of cold bathing, was also a member of the College.

COMMONWEALTH Fund Fellowships tenable by British graduates in American Universities for two years beginning September 1935, have recently been awarded to the following, among others: Dr. F. X. Aylward (Liverpool) to Johns Hopkins University, in biochemistry; Miss M. E. Francis (Girton College, Cambridge) to the University of California, in geography; A. R. Gemmell (Glasgow) to Rutgers University, in plant pathology; Dr. Ronald Grant (Queen Mary College, London, and Universities of Edinburgh and Leeds) to the University of Chicago, in zoology; J. G. M. Hamilton (Edinburgh) to Harvard University, in medicine; W. R. Hawthorne (Trinity College, Cambridge) to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, in engineering; Miss G. G. Leybourne (University College, Cardiff) to the University of Chicago, in statistics; F. V. Price (New College, Oxford) to Princeton University, in physics; M. H. L. Pryce (Trinity College, Cambridge) to the Institute for Advanced Study, in mathematics; G. D. Rochester (Armstrong College, Newcastle) to the University of California, in physics; E. D. Tagg (Claire College, Cambridge) to Princeton University, in mathematics; Harold Walke (University College, Exeter) to the University of California, in physics; Kenneth White (Queen's College, Oxford) to the University of Chicago, in economics; John Wilkinson (Armstrong College, Newcastle) to Harvard University, in botany; R. B. Williams (Corpus Christi College, and New College, Oxford) to Princeton University, in chemistry; Leslie Young (Imperial College of Science and Technology and University College, Lordon) to Westington University University College, London) to Washington University, in biochemistry. R. B. Bryce (Toronto and St. John's College, Cambridge) has been awarded a British Dominions fellowship to Harvard University, in economics. The following have been appointed to fellowships tenable by candidates holding appointments in Government service overseas: W. E. Cohen (Western Australia, and Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Australia) to the University of Wisconsin, in wood chemistry; H. C. Forster (Melbourne, and the Department of Agriculture, Victoria) to Iowa State College, in agriculture; J. G. Gibbs (New Zealand, and the Department of Agriculture, New Zealand) to the University of Minnesota, in agriculture; H. J. N. Hodgson (Melbourne, and the Engineering and Water Supply Department, South Australia) to Harvard University, in engineering; C. C. Wessels (Pretoria, and the Department of Agriculture, South Africa), in veterinary science.