New Committee for Research in Mental Disorders


    THE Medical Research Council, in consultation with the Board of Control, has appointed a new committee to advise and assist in the promotion of research into mental disorders. The reconstituted committee will include representatives not only of psychiatry, medical psychology, and the study of mental deficiency, but also of neurology, physiology, biochemistry, pathology, and genetics. The chairman of the Committee will be Prof. E. D. Adrian, of the Medical Research Council, and the following will also serve: Sir C. Hubert Bond, Board of Control; Dr. Bernard Hart, University College Hospital, London; Prof. D. K. Henderson, Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Mental and Nervous Disorders; Dr. T. A. Ross, Cassel Hospital, Penshurst; Dr. E. O. Lewis, Board of Control; Dr. C. P. Symonds, Guy's Hospital, London; Dr. J. H. Quastel, Cardiff City Mental Hospital; Dr. J. G. Greenfield, National Hospital for Nervous Diseases, London; F. L. Golla, Maudsley Hospital, London; and Dr. L. S. Penrose, Royal Eastern Counties' Institution, Colchester. Sir David Munro, of the Council's staff, will act as secretary.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.