Science News a Century Ago


    Royal Society On April 10, 1834, Mr. J. W. Lubbock, treasurer, in the chair, nineteen further candidates were elected into the fellowship, contrasting with to-day's limit of seventeen allowed in a whole year. Their names were: Viscount Adair, Charles Ansell, Felix Booth, Lieut. Alexander Burnes, Francis Corbaux, Sir William Folkes, James W. Freshfield, John Davies Gilbert, Edward Griffith, Edmund Halswell, Dr. William Henry, Robert Hudson, the Rev. William F. Lloyd, John Phillips, Capt. Walter N. Smee, William Spence, Henry S. Thornton, Dr. John Warburton, Horace H. Wilson.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.