use of modern electrical methods of programme recording for use in the transmitters. example of the use of the station, reference may be made to the occasion of the broadcasting of the King's Christmas message on December 25 last, when the vision of Sir Ambrose Fleming and other pioneers of radio communication, of a single human voice addressing listeners over the whole surface of the earth, was realised. In addition to being transmitted by all the B.B.C. stations serving Great Britain, it was sent through the two Empire transmitters at Daventry. One of these was connected to the Indian zone array, for which zone the transmission took place at the normal The other short wave transmitter was operated on a wave-length of about 20 metres, and supplied an omnidirectional aerial, so as to broadcast so far as possible in all directions. In addition, the programme was recorded by Blattner-phone and used for re-transmission in the various zone programmes later in the day.

In addition to the direct reception from Daventry on listeners' private receiving sets, it is likely that the broadcasting authorities in the Dominions will arrange for the relaying of some programmes through their local stations operating on medium wave-lengths. From the point of view of the B.B.C., the whole Empire service will be experimental for a period of about six months, during which arrangements will be made to collect reports of reception from selected listeners in all parts of the Empire.

R. L. S.-R.

News and Views

New Year Honours

THE New Year Honours List includes the following names of scientific workers and others associated with scientific work: Baron: Sir Thomas Horder, Bt., senior physician to St. Bartholomew's Hospital. Knight of the Thistle: The Right Honourable Sir Herbert Maxwell, Bt., chairman of the Royal Commission on Scottish Historical Monuments, president of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland, 1900-13. K.C.B.: Sir Frederick Leith-Ross, chief economic adviser to His Majesty's Government. Major-General J. W. D. Megaw, Director-General of the Indian Medical Service. K.C.V.O.: Mr. F. J. Willans, surgeon anothecary to H.M. Household at Sandringham. Knights: Mr. C. A. Cochrane, chairman of the Council of Armstrong College, University of Durham. Mr. H. H. Dalrymple-Hay, consulting engineer, for his inventions and services in connexion with the construction of tube railways. Prof. F. T. G. Hobday, Principal and Dean of the Royal Veterinary College. Mr. A. J. C. Huddleston, lately economic adviser to the Sudan Government. Mr. J. L. McKelvey, for services to surgery in the Commonwealth of Australia. Mr. E. R. D. Maclagan, Director and Secretary, Victoria and Albert Museum. W. Perry, president of the Royal Agricultural Society, New Zealand. Mr. R. S. Rait, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Glasgow since C.H.: Rev. John Scott Lidgett, president of the Methodist Church, Vice-Chancellor of the University of London in 1930-31 and 1931-32. C.M.G.: Dr. J. J. C. Bradfield, Government engineer, Sydney Harbour Bridge, State of New Prof. D. B. Copland, South Wales. professor of commerce, University of Melbourne. Ennis, constructing engineer for Messrs. Dorman, Long and Co., Sydney Harbour Bridge, New South Wales. Mr. W. B. Johnson, director of Medical and Sanitary Service, Nigeria. Mr. W. J. U. Woolcock, formerly general manager of the Association of British Chemical Manufacturers, chairman of the Committee of Non-official Advisers associated with the industrial advisers of the United Kingdom delegation at the Ottawa Conference. C.I.E.: Major-Gen. W. C. H. Forster, Surgeon-General with the Government of Bombay. Lieut.-Col. R. B. Seymour Sewell, director of the Zoological Survey of India. Mr. C. G. Trevor, chief conservator of forests, Punjab and North-West Frontier Province. Col. J. N. Walker, director of the Medical Department and Sanitary Commissioner, his Exalted Highness the Nizam's Government, Hyderabad, Deccan. C.B.E.: Mrs. Alice Baker, one of the founders of the Thomas Baker, Alice Baker, and Eleanor Shaw Medical Research Institute, Melbourne, Commonwealth of Australia. Dr. F. H. A. Marshall, reader in agricultural physiology in the University of Cambridge. Dr. S. W. Smith, chief assayer, Royal Mint, and president of the Institute of Mining and Metallurgy. Dr. H. A. Tempany, director of agriculture, Straits Settlements and Federated Malay States. Prof. H. E. Whitfeld, Vice-Chancellor of the University, State of Western Australia. O.B.E.: Dr. J. T. Bradley, chief medical officer, Seychelles. Mr. A. V. Elsden, War Department chemist, Royal Arsenal, Woolwich. Mr. A. McCallum, senior inspector for agricultural education, Department of Agriculture for Scotland. Mitharam Pribhdas Mathrani, executive engineer, Left Works Division, Lloyd Barrage Circle, Sukkur, Bombay. Dr. S. A. Neave, assistant director, Imperial Institute of Entomology. Mr. J. Smith, director of animal health and acting secretary for agriculture, Northern Rhodesia. Mr. H. W. O. Taylor, executive engineer, Right Works Division, Lloyd Barrage Circle, Sukkur, Bombay. Mr. R. S. Taylor, principal medical officer, Somaliland Protectorate. M.B.E.: Mr. J. Coelho, assistant Crown surveyor and assistant engineer, Public Works Department, Gibraltar. Mr. W. M. Schutte, agricultural engineer to the Government of Bombay. Mr. H. N. Williams, assistant engineer, Irrigation Department, Iraq.

Calendar of Nature Topics

For the past nine years calendars have been published in our columns recording week by week notes of historic interest relating to people and