News | Published:

News and Views

Nature volume 127, pages 456462 (21 March 1931) | Download Citation



THE Council of the Royal Society has agreed to recommend for election as fellows of the Society the following seventeen candidates: Percy George Ham-nail Boswell, professor of geology in the Imperial College of Science and Technology; Alfred Joseph Clark, professor of pharmacology in the University of Edinburgh; Charles Davidson, assistant at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich; Reginald Ruggles Gates, professor of botany, King's College, London; Charles Stanley Gibson, professor of chemistry, Guy's Hospital Medical School; Hermann Glauert, Principal Scientific Officer, Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farn-borough; Charles Robert Harington, reader in pathological chemistry in the University of.London (University College Hospital Medical School); Isidor Morris Heilbron, professor of organic chemistry in the University of Liverpool; Sir Alexander Cruikshank Houston, Director of Water” Examinations to the Metropolitan Water Board; Lieut.-Col. Sydney Price James, I.M.S., adviser on tropical diseases to the Ministry of Health; Charles Frewen Jenkin, lately professor of engineering science in the University of Oxford; Stanley Wells Kemp, director of research, Discovery Expedition; Thomas Howell Laby, professor of natural philosophy, University of Melbourne; William Kingdon Spencer, palaeontologist; Edward Charles Titchmarsh, professor of pure mathematics in the University of Liverpool; Wilfred Trotter, surgeon to University College Hospital; Miles Walker, professor of electrical engineering, University of Manchester.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing