News | Published:

University and Educational Intelligence

    Naturevolume 120pages135136 (1927) | Download Citation



    EDINBURGH.—At the recent graduation ceremonial, the honorary degrees conferred intluded the following: Doctor of Divinity: The Right Rev. Ernest William Barnes, Lord Bishop of Birmingham Doctor of Laws: Sir John Carruthers Beattie Vice/Chancellor and Principal of the University of Capetown; the Abbé Henri Bre Prof. C. F. Jenkin, professor of engineering, University of Oxford; Prof. J. C. Meakins, professor of medicine, M'Gill University, Montreal; Prof. A. C. Seward, Master of Downing College and professor of botany, University of Cambridge. The degree of Doctor of Science was conferred on Douglas A. Allan, thesis—“The Geology of the Highland Border from Tayside to Noranside ”; T. W. M. Cameron, thesis—“Studies in Economic Helmin-thology”; John Macqueen Cowan, thesis—“The Forests of Kalimpong—An Ecological Account”; J. F. V. Phillips, thesis—“Forest Succession and Ecology in the Knysna Region”; C. M. Yonge, thesis—“Structure and Function of the Organs of Feeding and Digestion in the Septibranchs, Cuspidaria, and Poromya.”

    About this article

    Publication history

    Issue Date



    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing