News | Published:

Current Topics and Events

Nature volume 110, pages 674678 (18 November 1922) | Download Citation



H.M. THE KING has approved of the following awards this year by the president and council of the Royal Society: A Royal medal to Mr. C. T. R. Wilson, for his researches on condensation nuclei and atmospheric electricity; and a Royal medal to Mr. J. Barcroft, for his researches in physiology, and especially for his work in connexion with respiration. The following awards have also been made by the president and council: The Copley medal to Sir Ernest Rutherford, for his researches in radioactivity and atomic structure; the Rumford medal to Prof. Pieter Zeeman, for his researches in optics; the Davy medal to Prof. J. F. Thorpe, for his researches in synthetic organic chemistry; the Darwin medal to Prof. R. C. Punnett, for his researches in the science of genetics; the Buchanan medal to Sir David Bruce, for his researches and discoveries in tropical medicine; the Sylvester medal to Prof. T. LeviCivita, for his researches in geometry and mechanics; and the Hughes medal to Dr. F. W. Aston, for his discovery of isotopes of a large number of the elements by the method of positive rays.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing