pp. 23-42, and he has a paper on ionisation in a magnetic field in vol. iv., ser. 7, pp. 27-44. His chief work, in which he summarises these and other results, is entitled "I fenomeni elettroatomici sotto l'azione del magnetismo," a work which met with a very cordial reception among Italian physicists, who must, indeed, have been indebted to Righi's activity and clearness of exposition for much of their knowledge of contemporary physics.

Students adequately familiar with Italian—as the writer cannot claim to be—speak of Righi's writings as marked by extraordinary clearness and simplicity of style, so that they can be read by people of average culture, at least in their

non-mathematical portions.

Numerous honours were conferred upon Righi, among others a 10,000 lira prize of the Accademia dei Lincei, and the Hughes medal of the Royal Society. The Royal Society also selected him as a foreign member, and he succeeded Lord Kelvin as foreign member of the Royal Academy of

Sciences at Upsala. In 1905 he was elected a Senator of the Italian Parliament.

By Righi's death Italy probably feels that she has lost her foremost physicist. He was anxious, up to the last, for information about every new discovery, and showed himself capable of appreciating results in many departments of physics. He was well known by reputation in this country as a thinker and worker of exceptional keenness and width of outlook.

OLIVER LODGE.

A REUTER message from Stockholm announces the death, at seventy-seven years of age, of ADMIRAL A. L. PALANDER, who was in command of Baron Nordenskiöld's vessel, the *Vega*, which completed the navigation of the North-East passage from the Atlantic to the Pacific along the north coast of Asia (1878–79). Admiral Palander was an honorary corresponding member of the Royal Geographical Society and of many other scientific societies both in Sweden and abroad.

Notes.

A MOVEMENT set on foot in the early part of last year for the founding of an institution or society the membership of which should be open to those particularly interested in problems connected with the fields of administration and organisation in relation to industrial enterprises was brought to a head at a public meeting held on April 26 last at the Central Hall, Westminster, by the appointment of a provisional organising committee which was instructed to prepare a draft constitution for such an institution, to be named the Institute of Industrial Administration. This committee presented its report, accompanied by a draft constitution embodying (1) a schedule of objects, (2) the conditions of membership, and (3) the form of government, at a public meeting held at the above-named hall on July 15. This draft constitution was, with slight amendments, adopted on the date last mentioned, and the first board of management, consisting of eighteen members representing a variety of industries, was elected on the same occasion. The objects of the institute as set out in the draft constitution are briefly as follows:-To promote the general advancement of knowledge relative to the principles of industrial administration and their applications; to facilitate the exchange of information and ideas regarding the principles and practice of industrial administration; to collect and publish information and proposals bearing on any aspect of industrial administration; and to co-operate with professional, industrial, or educational societies, organisations, or authorities in pursuance of these objects. The government of the institute is to be vested in an advisory council composed of honorary members and a board of management representing the various classes of membership of the institute. Mr. E. T. Elbourne was elected hon. secretary of the institute, the offices of which are temporarily located at 110 Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.1.

THE U.S. National Research Council, with headquarters at Washington, has elected the following chairmen of its various divisions for the year beginning July 1, 1920: - Division of Foreign Relations: George E. Hale, director, Mount Wilson Observatory, Carnegie Institution of Washington. Government Division: Charles D. Walcott, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution and president of the National Academy of Sciences. Division of States Relations: John C. Merriam, professor of palæontology, University of California, and president-elect of the Carnegie Institution of Washington. Division of Educational Relations: Vernon Kellogg, professor of entomology, Stanford University, and permanent secretary of the National Research Council. Division of Industrial Relations: Harrison E. Howe. Research Information Service: Robert M. Yerkes. Division of Physical Sciences: Augustus Trowbridge, professor of physics, Princeton University. Division of Engineering: Comfort A. Adams, Lawrence professor of engineering, Harvard University. Division of Chemistry and Chemical Technology: Frederick G. Cottrell, director of the Bureau of Mines. Division of Geology and Geography: E. B. Mathews, professor of mineralogy and petrography, Johns Hopkins University. Division of Medical Sciences: George W. McCoy, director of the U.S. Hygienic Laboratory since 1915. Division of Biology and Agriculture: C. E. McClung, professor of zoology, University of Pennsylvania. Division of Anthropology and Psychology: Clark Wissler, curator of anthropology, American Museum of Natural History, New York.

THE Department of Scientific and Industrial Research has established four Sub-Committees to assist the Radio Research Board in the investigation of certain problems in connection with the work of the Board. The constitution of the Board and its Sub-Committees is at present as follows:—Radio Research Board: Admiral of the Fleet Sir Henry B.