News | Published:

University and Educational Intelligence.

Nature volume 68, pages 236237 (09 July 1903) | Download Citation



THE Allied Colonial Universities Conference is to be held at Burlington House to-day, July 9. Mr. James Bryce is to preside at the morning session, and Lord Strathcona and Mount Royal at the afternoon session. Official representatives have been appointed by the governing bodies of universities throughout the Empire to attend the conference. The universities of England and Wales, Scotland, and Ireland will be represented, and also fourteen Canadian universities, three Australian universities, New Zealand University, and the Cape of Good Hope University. Among the representatives appointed by colonial universities we notice the names of Prof. H. T. Bovey, F.R.S., Prof. E. Rutherford, F.R.S., Prof. J. G. MacGregor, F.R.S., Prof. R. Threlfall, F.R.S., Prof. Horace Lamb, F.R.S., and Prof. T. H. Beare. The following resolutions will be submitted:—(1) That in the opinion of this conference it is desirable that such relations should be established between the principal teaching universities of the Empire as will secure that special or local advantages for study, and in particular for post-graduate study and research, be made as accessible as possible to students from all parts of the King's dominions. Proposed by the Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge, seconded by the Vice-Chancellor of McGill University, Montreal, and supported by the principal of the University of London. (2) That a council, consisting in part of representatives of British and colonial universities, be appointed to promote the objects set out in the previous resolution, and that a committee be appointed to arrange for the constitution of the council. Proposed by the Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Oxford, seconded by Prof. R. Threlfall (representing the University of Sydney, New South Wales), anjd supported by the principal of the University of Birmingham. In addition to the above-named, Lord Kelvin, Sir Henry Roscoe, Prof. Rutherford, and several other representatives of universities have signified their intention of supporting the resolutions. Mr. R. B. Haldane, Sir Michael Foster, K.C.B., F.R.S., Sir Norman Lockyer, K.C.B., F.R.S., Mr. Fletcher Moulton, F.R.S., Prof. H. L. Callendar, F.R.S., Prof. J. A. Ewing, F.R.S., and Dr. H. P. Gurney (principal of the Durham College of Science) will also be among the speakers. A dinner will be held at the Hotel Cecil to-morrow evening, when the Prime Minister will occupy the chair.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing