News | Published:

The Royal Geographical Society

Nature volume 44, pages 164165 | Download Citation



THE anniversary meeting of the Royal Geographical Society was held in the University of London on Monday afternoon, the President, Sir Mountstuart Grant-Duff in the chair. The first business was the award of the medals and other honours for the year. The Founder's Medal was delivered to Sir Dillon Bell, Agent-General for New Zealand, for transmission to Sir James Hector, K.C.M.G., F.R.S., Director of the New Zealand Geological Survey. The Swedish Minister received the Patron's Medal on behalf of Dr. Fridtjof Nansen, who was unable to attend. Other honours were awarded to Mr. William Ogilvie, for his explorations of the Mackenzie and Yukon regions; Lieutenant B. L. Sclater, for instruments to be used in the exploration of Nyassaland; Mr. A. E. Pratt, for his journeys in Szechuen; Mr. W. J. Steains, for his investigations on the Rio Doce, South America. Mr. H. J. Mackinder then introduced the students of the Training Colleges who had been successful in obtaining the prizes offered by the Society annually on the results of the Christmas examinations in geography. Mr. Mackinder spoke briefly on the progress of geographical education, and on the results of the four years' awards to the Training Colleges.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing