News | Published:

University and Educational Intelligence

    Naturevolume 43page47 (1890) | Download Citation



    CAMBRIDGE.—At the biennial election to the Council of the Senate held on November 7, the following were nominated (the * indicates retiring members):—Heads (2 seats)—*Dr. Atkinson, Clare, *Dr. Ferrers, Caius, Dr. Hill, Downing; Professors (2 seats)—*Dr. Cayley, Trinity, Dr. Sidgwick, Trinity, Prof. Ryle, King's; Members of the Senate (4 seats)—*Dr. D. Mac-Alister, St. John's, Dr. Forsyth, Trinity, *Mr. Whitting, King's, Mr. R. T. Wright, Christ's, Mr. E. H. Morgan, Jesus, Mr. C. W. Moule, Corpus, Mr. C. H. Prior, Pembroke. The voting was as follows:—Dr. Ferrers, 184, Dr. Atkinson, 137; Dr. Cayley, 191, Dr. Sidgwick, 127; Dr. D. MacAlister, 158, Mr. Whitting, 156, Dr. Forsyth, 153, Mr. Wright, 117. These were elected. Dr. Hill received 109 votes, Prof. Ryle, 103, Mr. Prior, 111, Dr. Lea, 82, Mr. Morgan, 81, Mr. Moule, 71. The newly-elected members hold office for four years. The result is interpreted as a gain for those who favour the modern development of the University.

    About this article

    Publication history

    Issue Date



    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing