Books Received | Published:

Jahrbücher für wissenschaftliche Botanik


    DR. JAKOB ERIKSSON describes in a lengthened paper the protomeristem of the roots of Dicotyledons, and directs attention to the four great types of structure observable in these roots. In the first type the apex consists of three separate zones of meristem: the plerome, periblem, and dermocalyptrogen. In the second type only two zones are present: the plerome and a common zone for primary cortex, epidermis, and rootcap. In the third type there is a common meristem zone from which all the others develop; while in the fourth there are two zones, the periblem and the plerome. Two additional types are met with in Monocotyledons: (1) in which there are four zones of meristem: calyptrogen, dermatogen, peroblem, and plerome; and (2) in which there are three zones: the calyptrogen, the plerome, and a common zone for cortex and epidermis.

    Jahrbücher für wissenschaftliche Botanik.

    Herausgegeben von Dr. N. Pringsheim. Elfter Band, drittes und viertes Heft. With twenty-four plates. (Leipzig: W. Engelmann, 1877 and 1878.)

    Access optionsAccess options

    Rent or Buy article

    Get time limited or full article access on ReadCube.


    All prices are NET prices.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.