WE take the following from the Times:—At the meeting of the Council of the Royal Society on Thursday last, the following were nominated as council and officers for the year ensuing to be proposed for election at the anniversaiy meeting of the Society, which will be held on St. Andrew's Day, the 30th instant:— President, William Spottiswoode, M.A., LL.D.; Treasurer, John Evans, F.G.S., V.P.S.A.; Secretaries, Prof. George Gabriel Stokes, M.A., D.C.L., LL.D., and Prof. Thomas Henry Huxley, LL.D.; Foreign Secretary, Prof. Alexander William Williamson, Ph.D. Other Members of the Council— Frederick A. Abel, C.B., V.P.C.S., William Bowman, F.R.C.S., William Carruthers, F.L.S., Major-Gen. Henry Clerk, R.A., William Crookes, V.P.C.S., Sir William Robert Grove, M.A., Augustus G. Vernon Harcourt, F.C.S., Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker, C.B., K.C.S.I., D.C.L., Vice-Admiral Sir Astley Cooper Key, K.C.B., Lieut.-Gen. Sir Henry Lefroy, C.B., Lord Lindsay, P.R.A.S., Sir John Lubbock, V.P.L.S, Lord Rayleigh, M.A., Charles William Siemens, D.C.L., John Simon, C.B., D.C.L., Prof. Allen Thomson, M.D., F.R.S.E. It will be remarked that Sir Joseph Hooker has carried out his intention of retiring from the presidency.

    Access options

    Rent or Buy article

    Get time limited or full article access on ReadCube.


    All prices are NET prices.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Notes . Nature 19, 44–46 (1878).

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.