Article metrics


    BY five decrees of the French government, dated February 13, the working of the French observatories has been thoroughly reorganised, and if the new system is faithfully carried out, we have no doubt it will be productive of good results. The management of the government observatories is entrusted to a body of astronomers responsible to the Minister of Public Instruction, and consisting of titular astronomers (astronomes titulaires), associate astronomers (astronomes adjoints), and assistant astronomers. This personnel is distributed among the various observatories according to the requirements of the service, and the special resources offered by each establishment for the researches of observers. The staff of the observatory of Paris consists of a director, six titular astronomers, ten associate astronomers, and several assistants. A responsible secretary is attached to the establishment. The Paris observatory has a scientific council, composed of the director, the various chief astronomers of the service, and of six councillors of the observatory, chosen from among scientific men eminent in mathematics, astronomy, or physics, and of whom four at least must belong to the Academy of Sciences or to the Bureau des Longitudes. These are to be nominated by decree, in accordance with the advice of the Council, and upon the proposal of the Minister. The Council is to meet once a month, and every year, at Easter, the directors, the councillors, and the chiefs of the various scientific establishments, meet in general assembly with the Minister of Public Instruction. The directors and the titular astronomers are appointed by the President of the Republic, acting according to the advice of the General Assembly. The salaries of the titular astronomers vary from 6000 to 8000 francs, those of the associate astronomers, divided into three classes, from 3,500 to 6,000 francs, and those of the assistant astronomers, also divided into three classes, from 1,000 to 3,500 francs. These salaries do not strike us as being particularly liberal By a second decree, M. Le Verrier has been made Director of the Paris Observatory; the Councillors of the Observatory are, MM. Belgrand, Fizeau, Vice-Admiral Jurien de la Gravière, Janssen, Tresca, Daubrée; and Members of Council, MM. Yvon Villarceau, Wolf, Gaillot, and Rayet. M. Marie Davy is appointed Director of the Meteorological Observatory of Montsourris, and M. Stephan of the Observatory of Marseilles.

    Access options

    Rent or Buy article

    Get time limited or full article access on ReadCube.


    All prices are NET prices.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Notes . Nature 7, 331–332 (1873) doi:10.1038/007331a0

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.