Nature Awards for Mentoring in Science – South Africa (2007)

For its annual awards for science mentorship in 2007, Nature invited nominations of outstanding scientific mentors in South Africa. The winners were announced on 21 September 2007. The Editor-in-Chief of Nature, Dr Philip Campbell, presented the awards, each worth ZAR60,000, at a special event in Cape Town.

Award winners

Professor Barry Fabian, a developmental biologist at the University of the Witwatersrand, for his lifetime achievements in scientific mentoring;

Professor Charles de Koning, Professor of Organic Chemistry, also at the University of the Witwatersrand, for his achievements in scientific mentoring.

Panel of judges

  • Professor David Woods, former Vice-chancellor of Rhodes University and former deputy Vice-chancellor at the University of Cape Town (chair)
  • Professor Krish Bharuth-Ram, former Professor of Physics at the University of Kwazulu-Natal and former Director of iThemba laboratories
  • Professor Carl Anhaeusser, Professor Emeritus in Geosciences, University of the Witwatersrand
  • Professor Carolyn Williamson, Institute for Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine, University of Cape Town
  • Professor Tebello Nyokong, Research Professor in Chemistry, Rhodes University
  • Professor Michael Cherry, Professor in Botany and Zoology, Stellenbosch University (secretary)

Nature coverage

Awards for South Africa's best

Paul Smaglik