Nature Awards for Mentoring in Science – Germany (2008)

For its annual awards for science mentorship in 2008, Nature invited nominations of outstanding scientific mentors in Germany. The winners were announced on 23 October 2008. The Editor-in-Chief of Nature, Dr Philip Campbell, presented the awards, each worth €10,000, at a special event in Berlin.

Award Winners

Lifetime achievement award (joint winners):
Klass Bergmann of the Technical University of Kaiserslautern
Heinrich Betz, director of the Max Planck Institute for Brain research, Frankfurt

Mid-career achievement award:
Peer Bork of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg

Panel of judges

Chair: Professor Dr Ulrike Beisiegel, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Hamburg

Professor Dr Henning Hopf, Institute for Organic Chemistry, Technical University, Braunschweig

Professor Dr Wolfgang Ertmer, Institute of Quantum Optics, University of Hannover

Professor Dr Peter Lichter, DKFZ (German Cancer Research Center), Heidelberg

Professor Dr Hartmut Grassl, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg

Press releases

23 October 2008
Nature recognises outstanding German mentors

25 March 2008
Nominations open for Nature Awards for Mentoring in Science – Germany (2008)


Nature coverage

German mentors steer a new course

Alison Abbott