Nature Awards for Mentoring in Science – Australasia (2006)

For its annual awards for science mentorship in 2006, Nature invited nominations of high-achieving mentors in two regions: the United Kingdom and Australasia. The winners of the Australasian award were announced on 1 December 2006. The Editor-in-Chief of Nature, Dr Philip Campbell, presented the awards, each worth AUS$20,000, at an event in Melbourne.

Award winners

Professor Tom Healy, a physical chemist from the University of Melbourne (lifetime achievement award)

Professor Rachel Webster, an astrophysicist from the University of Melbourne (mid-career award)

Panel of judges

  • Professor Kurt Lambeck FAA, FRS Australian National University, Canberra, President of the Australian Academy of Science (Chair)
  • Professor David Boger FAA, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Paul Callaghan PCNZM, FRS, FRSNZ, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
  • Professor Suzanne Cory AC, FAA, FRS Director, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne
  • Dr Carina Dennis, Australasia Correspondent, Nature
  • Professor Adrian Lee, University of New South Wales, Sydney

Nature coverage

Model Mentors

Carina Dennis


Press release: Nature rewards excellent scientific mentors in Australasia
Friday 1 December 2006