## **Appointments**

The British Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals has appointed **Mr Brian Taylor** secretary general of the committee. He is currently executive secretary.

The director general of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) has announced the following appointments: Mr Carlos Buechler has been made director of the division of standardization, training and administrative support, of the department of safeguards; Mr Raymond Parsick has been made director of the division of safeguards evaluation, of the department of safeguards; Mr Vasilii Ferronsky has been made director of the division of research and laboratories, of the department of research and isotopes and Mr George Githii has been made director of the division of publications, of the department of technical cooperation.

**Dr Roger Iredale** is to become principal education adviser to the Overseas Development Administration (ODA).

Mr Eric Bolton has been appointed senior chief inspector of Her Majesty's Inspectorate at the British Department of Education and Science. He succeeds Miss Sheila Browne who has resigned to take up the position of Principal of Newnham College, Cambridge, UK.

The new chairman of the Australian Atomic Energy Commission (AAEC) has been named as **Professor M.H. Brennan**. Professor Brennan will retain his current position of professor of plasma physics at the University of Sydney. Two new members of the commission have also been appointed. They are **Dr D.G. Walker**, the AAEC's chief executive officer, and **Dr J.G. Morris**, the director of the department of nuclear medicine at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney.

Mr Geoff Peters, senior lecturer in systems at the Open University, UK, has been elected dean of the Faculty of Technology.

**Dr Timothy Carter** has been appointed as the British Health and Safety Executive's director of medical services to fill the vacancy created by Dr K.P. Duncan's promotion to deputy director general.

The British Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) has appointed **Dr Brian Bayne** director of its Institute for Marine Environmental Research.

The British Medical Research Council

(MRC) has appointed **Dr Sally Macintyre** to be director of the council's medical sociology unit.

**Dr Peter Horrocks** has been appointed director of the National Health Service Health Advisory Service, UK.

## **Awards**

On the recommendation of the Royal Society, Her Majesty the Queen has awarded Royal medals, also known as the Queen's Gold medals, to the following: J.F.C. Kingman, chairman of the Science and Engineering Research Council and professor of mathematics at the University of Oxford; W.S. Feldberg, professor emeritus and attached worker at the division of neurophysiology and neuropharmacology of the National Institute for Medical Research; and D.J. Bradley, professor of optical electronics at Trinity College, University of Dublin, Ireland.

The Royal Society, UK has made the following awards: the Copley medal has been given to **Professor R.R. Porter** for his work on the structure of immunoglobulins and the reactions involved in activating the complement system of proteins; the Davy medal to **Professor D. Arigoni** in recognition of his work in the fields of biosynthesis and bio-organic stereochemistry; the Hughes medal to **Professor J.C. Ward** for his contributions to quantum field theory; the Mullard award and medal to **Mr R.S. Hooper** and **Dr J.W. Fozard** for their contribution to the design, development and marketing of the Harrier V/STOL aircraft.

The Australian Royal Society of Victoria medal for scientific research for 1982 has been awarded to **Dr G.F. Mitchell**, head of the immunoparasitology unit at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research. Australia.

Professor Robert Aumann and Professor Philip Leder have been awarded the 1983 Harvey Prize of the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. Each will receive \$35,000.

Three prizes have been awarded by the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation for achievements in basic and clinical cancer research — the Kettering prize, the Mott prize and the Sloan prize. The Kettering prize, awarded for work in the diagnosis or treatment of cancer, has been given jointly to Emil Frei III, director of the Dana Farber Cancer Institute, USA and professor of medicine at Harvard School of Medicine, USA, and Emil Freireich, chairman of the department of

developmental therapeutics at the University of Texas System Cancer Center and professor of medicine at the University of Texas Medical School, USA. The Mott prize, given for work on the prevention of cancer, was won by Bruce Ames, professor of biochemistry at the University of California, USA. The Sloan prize, awarded for work in aetiology and pathogenesis, has been given to Raymond Erikson, professor of cellular and developmental biology at Harvard University, USA. Each prize is worth \$100,000, and award winners receive a gold medal and a grant of \$30,000 to hold a workshop in their specialist areas.

The Gairdner Foundation of Canada has announced its international awards for 1983. Dr Donald Henderson of the Johns Hopkins University, USA, has received an award of merit of \$25,000; and Dr Bruce Ames of the University of California, Berkeley, USA, Dr Gerald Aurbuch of the National Institutes of Health, USA, Dr John Clements of the University of California, San Francisco, USA, Dr Richard Gershon of the Yale University School of Medicine, USA, and Dr Susumu Tonegawa of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA have all received awards of \$15,000.

The winners of the Feldberg Foundation awards for 1983 are **Professor J. Aschoff** of the Max-Planck Institute for the Physiology of Behaviour, FRG and **Dr S. Brenner** of the Medical Research Council's Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK.

The 1983 gold medal of the Ecological Society of Australia has been awarded to **Dr Leonard James Webb** for his investigations of Australian rain-forests and their relation to environmental factors.

George Bartholomew, professor of biology at the University of California, Los Angeles, USA, has been named as the first recipient of the Joseph Grinnel medal in vertebrate zoology, awarded by the Museum of Vertebrate Zoology of the University of California, Berkeley, USA.

Reginald Preston, emeritus professor in the department of biophysics at the University of Leeds, UK, has received the 1983 Anselme Payen award of the cellulose, paper and textile division of the American Chemical Society.

The trustees of the Lady Tata Memorial Trust have made international awards for research in leukaemia to: R. Baer; A.P. Gee; K.M. Downs; A.G. Fisher; L.W. Kwak; D.D. Panjwani; U. Testa and M.G. Kauffman.