Announcements

University News

Dr M. J. O'Hara has been appointed to a personal chair of petrology in the **University of Edinburgh.**

Dr R. J. Knops, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, has been appointed to the chair of mathematics at Heriot-Watt University, in succession to Professor R. Smart, who retires this year.

The following appointments have been made in the University of London: Dr R. P. Dales has been appointed to the chair of zoology tenable at Bedford College; Dr P. J. Lachmann has been appointed to the chair of immunology tenable at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School and Dr Walter Plowright has been appointed to the chair of veterinary microbiology and parasitology tenable at the Royal Veterinary College. The following titles have been conferred: professor of embryology, on Professor F. Beck: professor of dental anatomy, on Professor R. W. Fearnhead; and professor of physiology, on Professor W. R. Keatinge, in respect of their posts at the London Hospital Medical College: professor of computer systems, on Dr P. T. Kirstein, in respect of his post at the Institute of Computer Science; professor of epidemiology and preventive medicine, on Professor G. A. Rose, in respect of his post at St Mary's Hospital Medical School; professor of computer science, on Professor P. A. Samet, in respect of his post at University College.

Dr K. W. Brittan has been appointed to the newly created Rank chair of instrument science and technology at Loughborough University of Technology.

Miscellaneous

The research medal of the Royal Society of Victoria has been awarded to Professor G. Burnstock, University of Melbourne, for his work on the autonomic innervation of smooth muscle.

Academician I. M. Vinogradov, mathematician and member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, has been awarded the Lomonosov gold medal of the Academy.

The Edinburgh Geological Society has awarded the Clough medal to Professor F. H. Stewart, University of Edinburgh, and the Clough award to Dr P. Toghill, British Museum (Natural History). Applications for a grant from the Clough memorial fund for geological research in Scotland and the North of England should be sent to the secretary of the Society, 19 Grange Terrace, Edinburgh EH9 2LF.

The Linnean gold medal has been awarded to Dr J. E. Smith, director of the Marine

Biological Association, Plymouth, for his work in zoology and to Dr C. R. Melcalfe, formerly keeper of the Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Botanic Gardens, for his work in botany. The H. H. Bloomer award to an amateur naturalist has been made to Dr John G. Dony, author of Floras of Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire.

Harkness fellowships of the Commonwealth Fund for 1971 have been awarded to the following scientists: C. J. Adams. University of Oxford (chemistry); D. J. Broadhurst, University of Sussex (physics); D. J. Collop, University of Cambridge (applied mathematics); J. H. Danskin. University of Edinburgh (physics); J. S. Halliday, University of Cambridge (electronics); E. F. Hawkins, University of Sheffield (zoology); S. A. McKilligan, University of Aberdeen (mathematics); N. C. Price, University of Oxford (biochemistry); T. E. H. Walker, University of Oxford (chemistry); C. G. Wynn-Williams, University of Cambridge (astronomy).

Awards for 1971 have been announced by the Council of the Institute of Physics and the Physical Society: Guthrie medal and prize, to Mr J. A. Ratcliffe, formerly of the Radio Research Station; Glazebrook medal and prize, to Dr F. E. Jones, Mullard Ltd; Thomas Young medal and prize, to Professor C. G. Wynne, Imperial College of Science and Technology; Maxwell medal and prize, to Dr J. B. Taylor, Culham Laboratory, UKAEA; Charles Chree medal and prize, to Mr D. G. King-Hele, Royal Aircraft Establishment; Duddell medal and prize, jointly to Dr V. E. Cosslett and Dr K. C. A. Smith, University of Cambridge; Charles Vernon Boys prize, to Dr M. Hart. University of Bristol; Bragg medal and prize, to Mr G. R. Noakes, formerly of Uppingham School; A. B. Wood medal and prize, to Dr R. E. Apfel, Harvard University.

The following were elected Fellows of the Royal Society on March 18: Professor N. H. Ashton, Institute of Ophthalmology, University of London; Dr J. H. Beynon, Dyestuffs Division of Imperial Chemical Industries Limited; Mr B. B. Boycott, MRC; Professor A. Carrington, University of Southampton; Professor D. H. Copp, University of British Columbia: Dr G. S. Dawes, Nuffield Institute for Medical Research, Oxford; Professor M. E. Fisher, Cornell University; Professor D. V. Glass, London School of Economics, University of London; Dr J. B. Gurdon, University of Oxford; Dr B. S. Hartley, MRC; Mr Lionel Haworth, Rolls Royce Limited; Professor R. Hide, Meteorological Office; Professor J. F. C. Kingman, University of Oxford; Professor J. Mandelstam, University of Oxford; Dr E. H. Mansfield, Royal Aircraft Establishment; Dr W. Marshall, UKAEA; Professor J. L. Monteith, University of Nottingham;

Professor F. R. N. Nabarro, University of the Witwatersrand; Dr A. C. Neish, National Research Council of Canada; Professor P. R. Owen, Imperial College, University of London: Professor J. C. Polanyi, University of Toronto; Dr A. F. Posnette, East Malling Research Station; Dr R. E. Reason, Rank Precision Instruments Limited; Dr F. G. Rees, University College of Wales; Mr J. D. Rose, Imperial Chemical Industries Limited; Professor G. W. Series, University of Reading: Professor R. M. Shackleton. University of Leeds; Professor T. I. Shaw, Queen Mary College, University of London; Professor B. C. L. Weedon, Queen Mary College, University of London; Dr A. M. Wetherell, CERN; Professor H. B. Whittington, University of Cambridge; Professor D. R. Wilkie. University College, University of London.

Errata

In the article "Fission Track Dating of Archaeological Materials from Japan" on page 242 of this issue of *Nature*, the first sentence on page 243 should read "Zircon required from 1 to 2 min in concentrated H₃PO₄ at 450–500° C..."

In the article "Search for a Human Breast Cancer Virus" by Dan H. Moore *et al.* (*Nature*, **229**, 611; 1971), the word "man" on line 3 of the first paragraph should read "mice". The penultimate line of the fourth paragraph should read "Gentamycin (Schering 0.01 ml./ml. of milk)..."

In the article "Crystal Structure of Cu(adenine)₂Cl₂.3H₂O and Bridging Capability of Adenine" by P. de Meester, D. M. L. Goodgame, K. Angela Price and A. C. Skapski (*Nature*, 229, 191; 1971), the abbreviation EPR was mistakenly translated as electron proton resonance. This should, of course, have read electron paramagnetic resonance.

In the article "Parameter Sensitivity as a Criterion for Evaluating and Comparing the Performance of Biochemical Systems" by Michael A. Savageau (Nature, 229, 542; 1971), the paragraph immediately following Fig. 1 should read as follows: "The following definition of parameter sensitivity meets these requirements and avoids the difficulties encountered in measuring the effectiveness of a biochemical control system that I have mentioned. (In this definition a parameter will refer to a property of the system that is normally a fixed quantity, and may be considered characteristic of the system. In different systems, or in different environments, parameters may assume different but fixed values. For example, in a simple enzyme-catalysed reaction the Michaelis constant K_m would be a parameter of the system, whereas the concentration of the substrate would be