the normal deltaic processes. The observations on the grade of the Coal Measures rocks of the area are also, in my opinion, too sweeping and need to be more precisely stated.

Despite these criticisms I feel that Spink has made a useful contribution to our knowledge of the geology of these coalfields and wish to make it clear that the National Coal Board is only too willing to make the geological information obtained from its deep mining activities freely available to serious researchers of the subject.

Yours faithfully,

G. Armstrong

National Coal Board, Hobart House, Grosvenor Place, London SW1.

What will Happen to Geology?

SIR,—It is not my intention to comment on the main theme of the interesting and provocative article entitled "What will Happen to Geology?" published in your issue of March 8 (221, 903; 1969) but to correct a misunderstanding in the article on the usage of this council's research vessel John Murray. This ship was provided specifically for university departments to carry out marine research; the needs of the IGS to study the geology of the continental shelf are met by hiring suitable ships and equipping them for the purpose. The limitations implied by your article have therefore not occurred.

Yours faithfully,

R. L. J. WRAIGHT

Natural Environment Research Council, Alhambra House, 27–33 Charing Cross Road, London WC2.

Demise of a Department

SIR,—My attention has been drawn to your discussion of the proposal to close the Department of the History and Philosophy of Science at University College London (Nature, 221, 995; 1969). You show that this would reduce the establishment of the college by four, and add that "eventually a second readership would lapse". In case the chairman of the University Grants Committee reads your article and thinks that this further reduction in the number of senior posts is imminent, I wish to point out that the readership in question is mine, and that it is due to lapse when I retire, about 1990.

You should know that Professor P. K. Feyerabend is on the staff of this department, not the Philosophy Department; that at least thirteen of our former students are lecturers, readers or professors at other universities, not a handful; that we have about twenty MSc students, not a dozen; and that we also have nearly twenty PhD candidates, and not just "the occasional" one.

Yours faithfully,

W. A. SMEATON

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College London, Gower Street, London WC1.

University News

Professor G. V. Raynor, dean of the faculty of science and engineering, has been appointed deputy principal at the University of Birmingham. Professor A. R. Battersby, University of Liverpool, has been elected professor of organic chemistry at the University of Cambridge.

Professor G. W. Mackey has been elected to the new Landon T. Clay professorship of mathematics and theoretical science at Harvard University.

Four new professorships in aspects of urban life, provided by a grant from the Ford Foundation, have been established at **Harvard University**. Dr J. F. Kain has been elected professor in economics, Dr L. Rainwater professor in sociology, Dr N. Glazer professor in education and social structure, and Dr F. E. Smith professor in advanced environmental studies in resources and ecology.

Dr E. A. Friedman, Chicago Medical School, has been appointed professor of obstetrics and gynaecology at Harvard University.

Dr C. M. Pierce has been appointed professor of education and psychiatry at Harvard University.

The title of professor of medicine has been conferred on Dr T. R. E. Pilkington, St George's Hospital Medical School, University of London.

The title of professor of histopathology has been conferred on Dr G. B. D. Scott, Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine.

The title of professor of pharmacognosy has been conferred on Dr E. J. Shellard, Chelsea College of Science and Technology.

Appointments

Mr C. W. Mallinson, County Treasurer, West Sussex County Council, has been appointed deputy chairman of the National Computing Centre.

Mr S. Spain has been appointed head of the Electrical, Chemical and Shipbuilding Industries Division of the Ministry of Technology.

Dr J. Raftery has been elected president of the Royal Irish Academy; Dr V. C. Barry has been elected treasurer.

Announcements

Alfred North Whitehead Fellowships for advanced study in education at Harvard University have been awarded to Mr R. H. de Lone, Professor T. F. Green, Mr J. W. Guthrie, Mr S. Halperin, Mr K. Haskins, Mr T. E. Nelson, Mr K. R. Plath and Mr M. Trammel. They will use the university's resources and those of the Cambridge-Boston community for a year of independent study.

The Bertner Foundation Award of the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute at Houston will be awarded to Professor Boris Ephrussi, director of the Centre de Genetique Moleculaire, Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique of France, for his contribution to cancer research; Dr T. S. Painter, professor emeritus of zoology at the University of Texas, will receive the first Anderson Award for scientific creativity and teaching.

The American Institute of Physics and the United States Steel Foundation have instituted a new science writing prize for physicists and astronomers. Material submitted must have appeared in newspapers, magazines or books intended for the general public between June 1, 1968, and May 31, 1969. Further information may be obtained from the Public Relations Division, American Institute of Physics, 335 East 45th Street, New York, NY 10017, USA.