holm); and biological problems for the rheologist, by P. Eggleton (Edinburgh). The other papers in the programme will be read at one of the three sections of the Congress; it is noteworthy that a number of the authors of these papers come from countries other than Great Britain, namely, Brazil, France, Germany, Holland, Sweden, United States and Yugoslavia. The Congress fee is £4, which includes preprints of all the papers to be read; orders for additional copies of the proceedings and for off-print copies of individual papers should be addressed to the publishers, Butterworths Publications, Ltd., 436 Strand, London, W.C.2. Application forms for the Congress (to be returned by May 1) and further details can be obtained from the honorary organizing secretary, Dr. G. W. Scott-Blair, University of Reading.

Oxidation of O'ls and Fats : Symposium in Cambridge

A SYMPOSIUM on the oxidation of oils and fats will be held by the Oils and Fats Group of the Society of Chemical Industry on April 24 at the Low Temperature Research Station, Downing Street, Cambridge. Prof. C. E. H. Bawn will give an introductory address, and he will be followed by talks on recent research, as follows: Dr. C. H. Lea, on oxidative deterioration of lipids; Dr. A. Banks, on autoxidation of linoleic acid; Dr. L. A. O'Neill, on autoxidation of drying oils; and Dr. J. H. Skellon, on oxidation of monoethenoid fatty acids and esters. Further information can be obtained from the General Secretary, Society of Chemical Industry, 56 Victoria Street, London, S.W.1.

Chemical Society: Officers

Officers of the Chemical Society have been elected as follows: President, Prof. C. K. Ingold; Vice-Presidents, Prof. F. G. Donnan, Sir Ian Heilbron, Sir Cyril Hinshelwood, Dr. W. H. Mills, Sir Eric Rideal, Sir Robert Robinson, Prof. G. R. Clemo, Prof. R. D. Haworth, Prof. D. H. Hey, Prof. E. L. Hirst, Sir John Simonsen and Prof. M. Stacey; Treasurer, Sir Wallace Akers; Secretaries, Prof. H. Burton, Prof. E. D. Hughes and Dr. L. E. Sutton; New Members of Council, Prof. F. Bergel, Prof. M. J. S. Dewar, Dr. I. J. Faulkner, Prof. Brynmor Jones and Dr. A. I. Vogel.

Colonial Service: Recent Appointments

THE following appointments have recently been made in the Colonial Service: D. F. Phillips (agricultural assistant, Tanganyika), agricultural officer. Tanganyika; F. A. Rabagliati (assistant agricultural officer, Kenya), agricultural officer, Kenya; B. J. Silk (agricultural education officer, Gold Coast), senior agricultural education officer, Gold Coast; F. Durocher-Yvon (director of agriculture, Seychelles), agricultural officer, Northern Rhodesia; S. J. Curry (entomologist, Cyprus), entomologist, Kenya; Major the Hon. P. L. A. O'Brien (geologist, Northern Rhodesia), senior geologist, Northern Rhodesia; Gunn Lay Teik (chemist, Agricultural Department, Federation of Malaya), senior chemist, Agricultural Department, Federation of Malaya; D. F. Laing and F. E. Trevitt, veterinary officers, Nigeria; B. McCulloch, veterinary research officer, Tanganyika; R. Blower, soil conservation officer, Kenya; C. Bos, arrowroot processing chemist, Windward Islands; T. D. Rees, geochemist, Geological Survey Department, Tanganyika.

Announcements

The Royal Astronomical Society has elected Prof. V. A. Ambartsumian, of the University Observatory, Leningrad, and Prof. A. Unsöld, of the University Observatory, Kiel, to be associates.

DR. DETLEY W. BRONK, president of the Johns Hopkins University and president of the United States National Academy of Sciences, has been elected by the Paris Academy of Sciences to be a correspondant for the Divisions of Free Academicians and of the Application of Science to Industry in succession to the late Prof. F. Marguet.

MR. J. A. RATCLIFFE, of the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, has been awarded the Holweck Medal and Prize for 1953 and will deliver the eighth Holweck Lecture in Paris on May 22; his subject will be "Some Aspects of Diffraction Theory". The Holweck Medal was founded by the Physical Society as a memorial to Fernand Holweck, director of the Radium Institute, Paris, and to other French physicists who were killed during the occupation of France in the Second World War, and the award is made annually by the Physical Society and the Société Française de Physique jointly. The recipient is alternately a French and a British physicist, distinguished for his work in experimental physics.

The Television Society's Silver Medal has been awarded for 1953 to Mr. George Cansdale, for his feature on the B.B.C. television programme in presenting animals from the London Zoo. This Medal, which was instituted in 1948, is intended to acknowledge the work done by an author, actor, producer, or any member of the television service in promoting the artistic or entertainment side of television programmes; and, in making the award this year, the Society has recognized that the function of television is not only entertainment but also education, both of which are combined in Mr. Cansdale's programmes.

The James Cook Medal for 1952 of the Royal Society of New South Wales has been awarded to Emeritus Prof. W. L. Waterhouse, of the University of Sydney, in recognition of his work in the field of agricultural science, particularly in the breeding of rust-resistant wheats. The James Cook Medal is awarded for "outstanding contributions to Science and Human Welfare in and for the Southern Hemisphere". The first award was made to Field-Marshal J. C. Smuts a short time before his death in 1950.

Dr. G. P. Contractor, who for the past three years has been the acting director of the National Metallurgical Laboratory of India, Tatanagar, of the Indian Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, has recently resigned from the Council.

Dr. C. J. Stubblefield, chief palæontologist since 1947 of the Geological Survey of Great Britain, has been appointed assistant director of the Survey and curator of the Museum of Practical Geology, London.

The following have been appointed to readerships tenable at St. Mary's Hospital Medical School, London: Mr. A. d'A. Bellairs (anatomy) and Dr. K. W. Cross (human physiology). The title of reader has been conferred on the following in respect of the posts held by them at University College, London: Dr. J. T. Aitken (anatomy) and Dr. G. E. Fogg (botany).