summer pilgrimages to various centres and at centenary commemorations of notable engineers and inventors. He was president of the Society during 1932–34 and last year was made secretary emeritus after serving as honorary secretary for thirty-one years. He acted as honorary secretary of the

### NEWS and VIEWS

## International Committee Nomenclature :

on Bacteriological Prof. T. Wiken

PROF. TORSTEN WIKEN has recently been appointed joint permanent secretary of the International Committee on Bacteriological Nomenclature in succession to Dr. R. S. Breed, who has been secretary for nonmedical bacteriology since the Committee was set up in 1930. Prof. Wikén was born in Soderhamm, Sweden, in 1912, and studied botany, chemistry and zoology at the University of Uppsala. He has worked at the Institute of Technology, Delft, with Prof. A. J. Kluyver, at Iowa State College with Prof. C. H. Werkman, and at Berkeley, California, with Prof. H. A. Barker. He is now professor of agricultural bacteriology and fermentation at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich. In the fields of nomenclature and taxonomy, Prof. Wikén is particularly interested in the Clostridia and the yeasts; but his research work has included a study of the methane bacteria, microbiological assay of vitamins, production of antibiotics by fungi, and the use of radioactive and heavy carbon in fermentations. Prof. Wikén's address is: Institut für landw. Bakteriologie und Gärungsbiologie, Eidg. Techn. Hochschule, Universitätstrasse 2, Zurich 6.

#### Royal Society of Edinburgh: New Fellows

THE following have been elected to the Royal Society of Edinburgh : Prof. M. L. Anderson, professor of forestry, University of Edinburgh; Dr. E. R. Andrew, lecturer in natural philosophy, University of St. Andrews; Dr. L. Auber, senior scientific officer, Department of Biology, Wool Industries Research Association, Leeds; Sir Henry Beresford-Peirse, director in Scotland of the Forestry Commission; Prof. H. G. Callan, professor of natural history, University of St. Andrews; Dr. Mary Collins, senior lecturer in psychology, University of Edinburgh; Mr. J. Dainty, senior lecturer in medical physics, University of Edinburgh; Prof. R. W. B. Ellis, professor of child life and health, University of Edinburgh; Dr. R. C. Fisher, officer in charge of the Section of Entomology, Forest Products Research Laboratory, Princes Risborough; Mr. W. R. Flett, senior lecturer in geology, Royal Technical College, Glasgow; Prof. K. V. Krishnan, professor of microbiology, All-India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Calcutta; Mr. D. MacDougall, chief chemist, Fuel Research Station, Greenwich; Prof. H. Nicol, professor of agricultural chemistry, West of Scotland Agricultural College, Glasgow; Dr. (Mrs.) Ethel E. Percival, lecturer in chemistry, University of Edinburgh; Mr. M. H. Quenouille, lecturer in statistics, University of Aberdeen; Mr. J. Reed, consultant engineer, Edinburgh; Dr. A. Ritchie, principal scientific officer, Marine Laboratory, Aberdeen; Dr. J. D. Robertson, lecturer in zoology, University of Glasgow; Emeritus Prof. S. J. Shand, formerly professor of geology, Columbia

University; Dr. T. B. Simpson, Sheriff of Caithness, Sutherland, Orkney and Zetland; Dr. H. D. Slack, senior lecturer in zoology, University of Glasgow; Dr. J. A. B. Smith, director of the Hannah Dairy Research Institute, Ayr; Dr. D. ter Haar, lecturer in theoretical physics, University of St. Andrews; Prof. I. M. Thompson, professor of anatomy, University of Manitoba; Mr. A. R. Wannop, technical development officer, Department of Agriculture for Scotland.

# Geophysical Research Institution of the University of Copenhagen

In order to promote geophysical research at the University of Copenhagen, a private and independent institution has been created with Dr. Niels Arley as director. It will be known as the Geophysical Research Institution, University of Copenhagen, and its address is c/o Institute for Theoretical Physics, Blegdamsvej 15, Copenhagen Ø. The governing board consists of Prof. H. M. Hansen, rector of the Two University, Prof. Niels Bohr and Dr. Arley. scientific assistants have been appointed : J. Espersen and P. Andreasen. The provisional programme of the Institution is threefold : to continue on future deep-sea expeditions the work of measuring the geomagnetic field in the oceans as a function of position, depth, form and physico-geological nature of the bottom, and time (secular variation); to investigate the magnetism of bottom samples, rocks, setted to Dr. Arley by Prof. M. A. Tuve, of Washington; to organize a comprehensive and systematic geophysical survey of Greenland.

#### Micro-organism Culture Collections in Canada

THE Specialist Conference on Collections of Microorganisms, held in London during August 1947, recommended that "a directory of important Culture Collections in the Commonwealth should be pre-pared" and that "each institution maintaining a culture collection should prepare and distribute a catalogue . . .". H.M. Stationery Office recently published a "Directory of Collections and Lists (not a Catalogue) of Species of Micro-organisms maintained in the United Kingdom and Crown Colonies", and also one for New Zealand. These were modest publications, reflecting the paper situation in Great Britain. Now comes a "Directory and Catalogue of Collections in Canada", published by the Canadian National Research Council, which is sumptuous by comparison. The paper is good, the printing spacious, and the loose-leaves, rather larger than crown octavo, are contained in a durable plastic binder. Most of the Canadian collections are not large enough to justify separate catalogues, and all are combined in the present volume. The organisms are arranged in five sections : bacteria, bacteriophages, viruses, yeasts and fungi. For the bacteria the nomenclature