Colonial Service: Recent Appointments

THE following appointments have recently been made in the Colonial Service: K. Johansen (agricultural assistant, Tanganyika), agricultural officer, Tanganyika; A. B. Walton (conservator of forests, Federation of Malaya), conservator of forests, North Borneo; E. C. S. Dawe (director of veterinary services, Bechuanaland), deputy director of veterinary services, Tanganyika; R. A. Hammond (deputy director of veterinary services, Kenya), director of veterinary services, Kenya; H. W. C. Newlands and W. G. G. Pevie (senior veterinary officers, Tanganyika), regional assistant directors of veterinary services, Tanganyika; J. E. R. Roe (senior veterinary officer, Uganda), director of veterinary services, Bechuanaland; P. J. Sheehy (veterinary officer, Northern Rhodesia), veterinary officer, Bechuanaland; L. S. H. Walshe (veterinary officer, Sierra Leone), senior veterinary officer, Sierra Leone; J. P. Parmiter, agricultural officer, Nyasaland; S. T. Quausah, agricultural officer, Gold Coast; P. W. J. Edington, assistant conservator of forests, Federation of Malaya; K. Bloomfield, geologist, Nyasaland; M. S. Buchanan, geologist, Nigeria; B. H. Flinter and W. D. Procter, geologists, Federation of Malaya; P. Joubert, geologist, Kenya; W. K. L. Thomas, geochemist, Tanganyika; J. K. Whitingham, geologist, Tanganyika; P. H. Greenwood, scientific officer, East African Fisheries Research Organization, Jinja, Uganda; P. N. B. Jackson, scientific officer, Freshwater Fisheries Research Institute, Northern Rhodesia; J. A. Hammond, veterinary officer, Tanganyika; T. T. Bestow, engineer geologist, Kenya; J. W. Bride, assistant conservator of forests, Sierra Leone; J. W. Bryson, agricultural superintendent, Nigeria; R. C. Cole, fisheries officer, Federation of Malaya; T. P. B. Dodd and J. Henderson, assistant conservators of forests, Nyasaland; M. E. Ford, geologist, Water Development Department, Northern Rhodesia; T. A. M. Gardner, assistant conservator of forests, Kenya; J. P. C. Greenway, fisheries officer, Lake Victoria, East Africa High Commission; B. J. G. Marlow, biologist, Game Tsetse Control, Northern Rhodesia; M. A. E. Mortimer, fisheries officer, Northern Rhodesia; E. A. Palmer, assistant chemist, Agricultural Department, Nyasaland; D. K. Paul, assistant conservator of forests, Fiji; L. Skilling, assistant conservator of forests, Nigeria; R. C. Steele and R. McWaters, assistant conservators of forests, Tanganyika.

Announcements

The following appointments have been made in the University of Sheffield: A. R. Curtis, lecturer in applied mathematics; K. J. W. Alexander, lecturer in economics.

Dr. L. Valentine has been appointed lecturer in the chemistry of high polymers in the Department of Textile Industries, University of Leeds, from July 1.

The following appointments by the University of London have been announced: Mr. N. H. Ashton, to the University readership in pathology, tenable at the Institute of Ophthalmology. The title of reader in the University has been conferred on Dr. Reginald Lovell (veterinary bacteriology), Dr. J. N. Oldham (veterinary parasitology), and Dr. H. F. Rosenberg (veterinary physiology), in respect of the posts held by them at the Royal Veterinary College.

The Medical Research Council invites applications for a second series of fellowships in clinical research,

tenable at centres in the United Kingdom during the academic year 1952-53. These fellowships are open to suitably qualified medical graduates who desire to prepare themselves for a career in clinical research. Stipend will be at the rate of £850 per annum, rising by annual increments of £75 to £1,000 per annum. Applications must be sponsored by the head of the appropriate department in the candidate's university or medical school. Application forms can be obtained from the Secretary, Medical Research Council, 38 Old Queen Street, London, S.W.I, to whom they must be returned not later than March 1.

THE National Research Council of Canada is offering some forty postdoctorate fellowships for the year 1952-53. These awards are tax-free and are worth 2,820 dollars a year for single persons and 3,300 dollars a year for married men; fellows from abroad will get travel grants. About twenty fellowships are to be granted in pure chemistry and fourteen in physics, these two groups being tenable at the Ottawa laboratories of the Council. Five fellowships, tenable at the Council's Prairie Regional Laboratory in Saskatoon, will be awarded in biochemistry, microbiology and related fields. Applications and supporting documents should reach Ottawa before February 15. Further details can be obtained from the Secretary, Laboratories Awards Committee, National Research Council, Ottawa, or from the Chief Liaison Officer, National Research Council of Canada, Africa House, Kingsway, London, W.C.2.

As in former years, a symposium on molecular structure and spectroscopy will be held in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, Ohio State University, during June 9–13. The programme will include discussions of the interpretation of molecular spectroscopic data, as well as methods of obtaining such data, and sessions on aspects of spectroscopy which are of current interest. Further information can be obtained from Prof. Harald H. Nielsen, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Ohio State University, Columbus 10, Ohio.

THE Institute of Metal Finishing, in conjunction with the American Electroplaters' Society, announces the formation of the International Council for Electrodeposition. The object of the Council is to initiate and co-ordinate all activities of member societies where international action is necessary or desirable. Such activities may include the holding of international functions, questions of nomenclature and terminology and the representation of the interests of electrodeposition on international bodies. Representation on the Council is initially confined to the founder bodies; membership of the Council is, however, open to any society, one of the main interests of which is the subject of electrodeposition. The headquarters of the International Council are 27 Islington High Street, London, N.I, and the honorary officers are: Chairman, Mr. H. Silman (president, Institute of Metal Finishing); Hon. Corresponding Secretary, Dr. S. Wernick (hon. secretary, Institute of Metal Finishing); Dr. W. R. Meyer (American Electroplaters' Society); Mr. W. L. Pinner (American Electroplaters' Society).

The Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 has decided to increase the basic value of its research scholarships for students from the overseas countries of the Commonwealth from £350 to £450 a year, as from July 1, 1952.