are to be congratulated on the way in which they have tackled the vital problem of safety in the laboratory and for making such excellent provision against laboratory and technical hazards.

Northampton Polytechnic

Dr. P. F. Soper, head of the Electrical Engineering Department of the Nottingham and District Technical College, has been appointed head of the Electrical Engineering Department of the Northampton Polytechnic, St. John Street, London, in succession to Dr. J. S. Tait, who has been appointed principal of the Woolwich Polytechnic. Mr. K. J. Hume, at present metrology superintendent of the De Havilland Engine Co., Ltd., has been appointed head of the National College of Horology and Instrument Technology (which is housed in the Northampton Polytechnic) in succession to Mr. R. A. Fell, who is returning to industry.

Medical Research Council: Travelling Awards

THE Medical Research Council has made the following travelling awards for the academic year 1951–52: Rockefeller Travelling Fellowships in Medicine: Mr. W. Burnett, surgical registrar, Medicine: Professorial Unit, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary; Dr. O. Garrod, outpatient registrar and medical tutor, Postgraduate Medical School of London; Dr. J. N. Hunt, senior lecturer in physiology, Guy's Hospital Medical School, London; Dr. G. C. Kennedy, temporary member of staff, National Institute for Medical Research, London; Dr. B. P. Marmion, senior bacteriologist, Public Health Laboratory Service (at the Virus Reference Laboratory, Colindale); Mr. J. H. Peacock, lecturer in surgery, University of Bristol; Dr. S. W. Stanbury, Junior Beit Memorial Research Fellow, Department of Medicine, University of Manchester; Dr. E. M. Vaughan Williams, Schorstein Research Fellow in medical science, Department of Pharmacology, University of Oxford. Dorothy Temple Cross Research Travelling Fellowships in Tuberculosis: Mr. R. W. Baldwin, research assistant, Chemistry Department, University of Birmingham; Dr. G. J. Cunningham, senior lecturer in morbid anatomy and histology, St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College, London. Travelling Scholarships in Medical Science (tenable in France under an exchange scheme with the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique): Mr. S. V. Boyden, Wellcome Fellow of the Animal Health Trust, Department of Animal Pathology, University of Cambridge; Dr. J. L. Gowans, Medical Research Council research student, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of

Colonial Service: Recent Appointments

The following appointments in the Colonial Service have recently been announced: G. W. Lines (deputy director of agriculture, Sierra Leone), director of agriculture, Sierra Leone; E. H. Probyn (assistant conservator of forests, Cyprus), senior assistant conservator of forests, Cyprus; J. S. Smith (senior assistant conservator of forests, Cyprus), conservator of forests, Federation of Malaya; J. H. Keast (senior surveyor, Nigeria), assistant director of survey, Nigeria; R. N. Lissett (senior surveyor, Tanganyika), senior surveyor, Uganda; T. W. Wignall (senior surveyor, Gold Coast), surveyor general, North Borneo; J. S. Dunbar (draughtsman, Geological

Survey Department, Tanganyika), chief draughtsman, Geological Survey Division, Tanganyika; Miss L. M. Horne (woman nutrition officer, Trinidad), woman nutrition officer, Windward Islands; M. J. Jacovides (forest assistant, Cyprus), assistant conservator of forests, Cyprus; S. D. Watson (draughtsman, Lands and Mines Department, Tanganyika), chief draughtsman, Surveys and Town Planning Department, Tanganyika; J. Heathcote, education officer (science), Kenya; J. F. Cowie, veterinary officer, Uganda; R. G. Erskine, veterinary officer, Nigeria; G. A. Currie, statistician, East Africa High Commission; W. J. England, principal, Egerton School of Agriculture, Kenya; S. A. Granville, statistician, Statistics Department, East Africa High Commission; A. M. Hobdey, temporary agricultural survey officer (cocoa), Gold Coast; R. R. Philp, soil survey officer (temporary), Gold Coast; P. D. Proud, fisheries officer, Aden; S. A. Radwanski, soil survey officer (temporary), Gold Coast; W. Rides, temporary agricultural survey officer (cocoa), Nigeria.

Announcements

THE honorary degree of D.Sc. of the University of Oxford has been conferred on Dr. G. G. Simpson, of the American Museum of Natural History, New York.

THE Royal College of Physicians has awarded the Weber-Parkes Prize to Dr. P. M. D'Arcy Hart, for his contributions to the epidemiology and prevention of tuberculosis; and the Baly Medal to Prof. G. de Hevesy for his work on radioactive indicators and their application in biochemistry, animal physiology and pathology.

The Committee representing the Royal Society and the University of Sheffield has appointed Dr. B. A. Bilby as Sorby Research Fellow from October 1, to work in the Metallurgy Department of the University of Sheffield on martensitic transformation and deformation twinning in crystals. The Committee representing the Royal Society and the Armourers and Brasiers' Company has appointed Dr. A. J. Kennedy as Armourers and Brasiers' Company Research Fellow from October 1, to work at the Royal Institution of Great Britain on transient creep in polycrystalline metals.

The Royal Society has arranged a 'Sir Isaac Newton' Exhibition on the occasion of the Festival of Britain. The Exhibition will be held during August 13–31 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. (except on Saturdays and Sundays) in the Society's rooms, Burlington House, London, W.1. Admission will be free.

THE Parsons Memorial Lecture for 1951 will be entitled "Sir Charles Parsons and Optical Engineering", and will be given by Mr. F. Twyman, in the Science Museum Lecture Theatre, on October 25, under the auspices of the Physical Society.

A conference on "The Chemistry and Physiology of the Nucleus" will be held at Brookhaven National Laboratory during August 15–17. This conference, which is being organized and sponsored by the Biology Department of the Laboratory, will include eighteen speakers and five demonstrations. It is hoped to publish invited papers. Inquiries should be addressed to the Biology Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, L.I., New York.