Paterson, Prison Commissioner; Dr. Audrey Richards, Social Services Department, Colonial Office; and Miss Eileen Younghusband, principal officer for training and employment, National Association of Girls' Clubs.

Royal Society of Edinburgh : New Fellows

THE following have been elected ordinary fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh : Dr. A. T. Andreasen, principal of the Orissa Medical School, India; Mr. A. H. R. Ball, rector of the Royal High School, Edinburgh; Mr. J. G. Chalmers, Chemistry Department, University of Edinburgh; Mr. J. B. Crawford, treasurer of the Bank of Scotland, Edinburgh; Dr. R. G. M. Dakers, Heriot-Watt College, Edinburgh; the Right Hon. William Y. Darling, Lord Provost of the City of Edinburgh ; the Right Hon. John Dewar, Baron Forteviot of Dupplin; Mr. N. Dobson, Ministry of Agriculture's Veterinary Laboratory, Weybridge, Surrey; Dr. A. Dunbar, Edinburgh; Dr. H. R. Fletcher, Government botanist, Edinburgh; Prof. R. Fürth, Dewar research fellow, University of Edinburgh; Prof. J. H. Gaddum, professor of materia medica, University of Edinburgh; Prof. A. C. Hardy, regius professor of natural history, University of Aberdeen ; Mr. W. B. Hislop, Edinburgh ; Mr. J. D. Imrie, City Chamberlain, Edinburgh; the Right Hon. Thomas Johnston, Secretary of State for Scotland; Mr. D. K. Kevan, secretary, Ministry of Supply (Timber Control), Edinburgh; Dr. Robert Kirk, Kitchener School of Medicine, Khartoum; Mr. C. C. Learmonth, secretary, Merchant Company, Edinburgh; Prof. C. H. Lobban, professor of civil engineering, King's College, University of London; Mr. Robert Lyon, principal, Edinburgh College of Art; Mr. W. W. McClelland, executive officer to the National Committee for the Training of Teachers; Mr. G. MacKenzie, general manager, British Linen Bank, Edinburgh; Colonel G. H. G. McLean, Glasgow; Mr. Duncan Mac-naughton, Edinburgh; Dr. G. C. McVittie, King's College, University of London; Dr. D. M. Morison, Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Edinburgh; Dr. Charles Ockrent, Glasgow; Prof. J. M. Robertson, Gardiner professor of chemistry, University of Glasgow; Prof. W. M. Smart, regius professor of astronomy, University of Glasgow; Dr. W. J. Stuart, consulting surgeon, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh; Mr. J. M. Thomson, secretary, Scottish Education Department; Dr. E. Warhurst, Heriot-Watt College, Edinburgh ; Dr. T. S. Westoll, Department of Geology, University of Aberdeen; Dr. R. W. Wheldon, Department of Agriculture, University of Durham; Mr. H. H. Wood, Department of English Literature, University of Edinburgh.

Announcements

THE Council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh has awarded the Makdougall-Brisbane Prize for the period 1938–1942 to Sir William Wright Smith, regius professor of botany in the University of Edinburgh, for his papers within the period of the award, and in recognition of his valuable contributions to systematic botany.

DR. LESLIE H. LAMPITT, chief chemist and a director of Messrs. J. Lyons and Co., Ltd., has been awarded the Society of Chemical Industry's Medal, which is given for conspicuous services to the Society. Dr. Lampitt has served on the Council of the Society for many years and has been its honorary foreign secretary and is now its honorary treasurer. He is also chairman of the Chemical Council. He has published many papers on foodstuffs research.

It was announced in the House of Commons on February 24 that the Secretary of State for the Colonies has appointed Prof. A. M. Carr-Saunders, director of the London School of Economics, Sir Hubert Henderson, research fellow in economics, All Souls College, Oxford, and Sir John Caulcutt, chairman of Barclays Bank (Dominion, Colonial and Overseas), to the Colonial Research Committee (see NATURE, July 4 and 11, 1942, pp. 17 and 51).

THE Council of the Institution of Naval Architects has awarded the Gold Medal of the Institution for the year 1942 to Mr. W. C. S. Wigley, for his paper "Calculated and Measured Wave Resistance of a Series of Forms Defined Algebraically, the Prismatic Coefficient and Angle of Entrance being Varied Independently". The Wakeham Prize for 1942 has been awarded to Mr. N. Hancock, for his paper "Blade Thickness of Wide-Bladed Propellers".

DR. ALASTAIR FRAZER, reader in pharmacology, has been appointed to the newly created chair of pharmacology in the University of Birmingham.

THE Coopers Hill War Memorial Prize and Medal, founded by members of the Royal Indian Engineering College, Coopers Hill, in commemoration of members of the College who fell during the War of 1914-18, is awarded annually by the Institution of Civil Engineers and triennially in turn by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, the School of Military Engineering, Chatham, and the School of Forestry, Oxford. The triennial award falls this year to the Council of the Institution of Electrical Engineers, which has decided to invite members to submit for consideration a paper on any subject coming within the scope of electrical science or electrical engineering and their applications. Only corporate members of the Institution less than thirty-five years of age on January 1, 1943, are eligible. Papers submitted must be specially written for the purpose of the competition and reach the Secretary of the Institution not later than September 1.

APPLICATIONS, which must be received not later than April 15, are invited for the following scholarships awarded by the Council of the Institution of Duddell Scholarship (value Electrical Engineers. £150 per annum, tenable for three years), open to British subjects who have passed the matriculation examination of a British university and wish to take up a whole-time day course in electrical engineering; Silvanus Thompson Scholarship (value £100 per annum and tuition fees, tenable for two years), for works employees who are British subjects and have served a minimum apprenticeship of three years at an approved electrical engineering works. In consequence of the present regulations of the Ministry of Labour and National Service, these awards can only be made to candidates who were born on or after January 1, 1925, and who could complete a degree course by the end of December 1945. Particulars can be obtained from the secretary of the Institution, Savoy Place, London, W.C.2.