the University of Cambridge; Miss K. L. Prendergast (University of Western Australia), for research in palæontology at the University of Cambridge. New Zealand : Mr. I. Lauder (University of New Zealand), for research in physical chemistry at the University of Manchester. South Africa : Mr. F. Sebba (University of Cape Town), for research in inorganic chemistry at the Imperial College of Science and Technology. Irish Free State : Mr. D. A. Webb (Trinity College, Dublin), for research in zoology at the University of Cambridge; India : Mr. N. S. Nagendra Nath (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore), for research in theoretical physics at the University of Cambridge.

This is the first occasion on which a scholar from India has been included in the Overseas scheme of the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851; and the award of the scholarship has been made possible by the action of H.M. Treasury in extinguishing the balance of the liability for contributions to the cost of new buildings for the Science Museum. The following preliminary selection committee was appointed by the Government of India to sift applications in India for the scholarship: Mr. J. E. Parkinson, Educational Commissioner with the Government of India (chairman); Dr. S. S. Bhatnagar, professor of physical chemistry, Punjab University; Sir C. V. Raman, director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; Dr. Birbal Sahni, professor of botany, Lucknow University. The names of three candidates for the scholarship were submitted by the committee to the Commissioners, who decided on June 30 to award the scholarship to Mr. Nath. In addition, it is worth mention that though Indian students, like all other British subjects, have always been eligible for Senior Studentships, if recommended by a university in the United Kingdom, Dr. H. J. Bhabha is the first native of India to be awarded such a studentship. He has made several original contributions to the correspondence columns of NATURE and is well known among workers in theoretical physics.

Rockefeller Travelling Fellowships in Medicine

THE Medical Research Council has awarded Rockefeller fellowships to the following for the academic year 1937-38: D. L. C. Bingham, clinical tutor, Surgical Outpatient Department, Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh; E. G. L. Bywaters, assistant clinical pathologist, Middlesex Hospital, London; P. R. Evans, registrar, Medical Diseases of Children, King's College Hospital, London; J. G. Sclater, tutor in clinical medicine, Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh; Dr. E. F. Scowen, assistant director, Medical Professorial Unit, St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London; Dr. C. H. Stuart-Harris, Sir Henry Royce research fellow in influenza, London; G. W. Hayward, resident medical officer, National Hospital for Diseases of the Heart, London. All these fellows propose to work at centres in the United States. In addition, the Rockefeller Foundation has awarded fellowships, on the recommendation of the Medical Research Council, to the following candidates in the special field of psychiatry, neurology and related subjects: Dr. E. W. Anderson, medical director, Cassel Hospital, Penshurst; Dr. A. Kennedy, assistant medical officer, Maudsley Hospital, London; A. S. Kerr, surgical registrar, Royal Infirmary, Liverpool; Dr. D. J. Williams, resident medical officer, Hospital for Nervous Diseases, Maida Vale, London; Dr. A. F. Rawdon-Smith, senior student, Royal Commissioners for the Exhibition of 1851, working in the Psychological Laboratory, University of Cambridge. Dr. Anderson proposes to work in Germany, the others at centres in the United States.

Announcements

THE following have recently been elected honorary fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh : British : Dr. W. T. Calman, lately keeper of zoology, British Museum (Natural History); J. L. Baird, inventor of the 'Televisor'. Foreign : Prof. C. U. Ariëns Kappers, director of the Central Institute of Brain Research, Amsterdam, and professor of comparative neurology in the University of Amsterdam; Prof. M. T. Bogert, professor of organic chemistry in Columbia University, New York; Prof. Max Planck, emeritus professor of theoretical physics and director of the Institute for Theoretical Physics in the University of Berlin.

DR. G. W. SCOTT BLAIR, of the physics department, Rothamsted Experimental Station, has been appointed head of the chemistry department at the National Institute for Research in Dairying, Shinfield, near Reading. Dr. Scott Blair, who is a chemistry graduate of the University of Oxford, joined the Rothamsted staff in 1926. He has worked on the physico-chemical properties of various agricultural materials such as soil, flour, honey and cheese. During one part of his Rothamsted service he held a Rockefeller Fellowship at Cornell University.

DR. F. W. EDWARDS has been appointed a deputy keeper in the Department of Entomology of the British Museum (Natural History). Dr. Edwards was born in 1888 and entered the Museum service in 1910. He is an authority upon Diptera. He undertook very successful collecting expeditions on behalf of the Museum to Patagonia in 1926–27 and to East Africa in 1934–35, as well as several smaller expeditions.

THE fourth Congress of the Medical Women's International Association will be held on July 13–18 at the McEwen Hall in Edinburgh. Further information can be obtained from the Local Congress Secretary, 2 Chester Road, Edinburgh.

MESSRS. JAMES TREGASKIS AND SON, 66 Great Russell Street, London, W.C.1, have issued a catalogue of old works on medicine and biology (Caxton Head Bulletin 21). It includes a copy of the rare first edition of Darwin's "Origin of Species", Gesner's "Treasure of Euonymus" (1559), Laennec's "Traité de l'auscultation mediate" (Ed. 4, 1837), the "Opera" (1582) of A. Paré, the great medieval surgeon, and other rare volumes.